Way of Life

By wayoflife

Woman

So, today was quite a surreal day. The office shook and the earthquake just kept getting stronger and stronger until eventually most of us in the office were under the desks with emergency kits in hand. Some salarymen didn't even flinch though; they just kept on working...

The strange part of the day came after I had walked the 10 km back to my apartment and started watching the TV coverage. I'd spoken to my mam during the day and wondered why she was so upset, but it wasn't until I saw the news coverage that I realized just how big the earthquake had been. In my office, although the building was really shaking, not one piece of paper had fallen on the floor, and when I got back to my apartment, nothing had moved. I wasn't really expecting to see what I saw on the news.

Our thoughts are with those in the harder hit families.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.