Life Naturally

By lifenaturally

Purple

Seldom, if ever, have I blipped a subject of controversy. Don't believe that's the purpose of blipfoto. But I've seen a few blips which have shocked me to some degree. Being an adult, I'll cope! It isn't my intent to start a long discussion, but if that happens all to the good. Blipfoto does seem to be about widening our visual and cultural horizons, so I won't offer any apologies.

Anyway, mostly I needed something purple to blip for Lali's color challenge and I'm having a happy Saturday lie-in in my PJ's. Not much else that's purple around the house ;-0

If you do an internet search about banned books, an amazing collection of titles and authors is revealed. 100's! Different kinds of books in different countries, of course. Some might surprise you! Here's a short list of a few of the "banned" books I've read - all by respected and even lauded authors. Being an American, my list is biased toward US and British Literature, of course.

1984 - George Orwell
The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn - Mark Twain (Samuel Langhorne Clements)
I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings - Maya Angelou
An American Tragedy - Theodore Dreiser
Beloved - Toni Morrison
Call of the Wild - Jack London
Catcher in the Rye - J.D. Salinger
A Farewell to Arms - Ernest Hemingway
Lord of the Flies - William Golding
Heart of Darkness - Joesph Conrad
Farenheit 451 - Ray Bradbury

William Shakespear's plays
The Bible
The Qu'ran

Later edit/addition
Some comments! All positive so far - figured most blippers might be the open-minded sort ;-0 Many thanks!!!

Asked about books banned in the US and to someone who is glad to live in a "more enlightened place and time" - this LINK is for you. The US and UK lists are very similar.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.