Don?t Know Nuffink

By Mrski1

Snow Ride

Today was one of those days when you wish mobile phones hadn't been invented, I had planned on meeting Stuart at Pitfichie for a mountain bike ride however as I arrived there I got a message saying he had turned around and headed home because of the snow, pah! What a wimp!

Not one to waste time having driven over to Pitfichie, or be put off by a little snow, I put on my winter gear and headed out. I don't actually mind riding by myself, I like the peace and escapism, a few people have pointed out to me that in some ways I can be similar to the main character in a tv programme I love, Dexter, apart from the serial killer thing that is.

The ride was well worth the effort, with snow covering the forest it looked stunning and rather than the usual ride over green hill, I took the long forest road climb determined to make it to the top of Cairn William. This is also a good climb for me to do to build up some fitness and endurance in the legs, something I urgently need with the time trial season only a month away, anyway, I made the top of the hill and rather than hang around to let the snow build up, there was already 3-4 inches of snow, I turned and rode back the way I came, downhilling in the snow is fantastic, keep off the front brake, pick my lines carefully, and let the back slide around the corners, brilliant fun! It reminded me of a birthday ride I had with Anth at Glentress a few years back.

I've now got an afternoon of rugby to look forward to, Italy just beating France in a thrilling game, and now the Wales v Ireland game to watch, just as well really as the weather where I live is miserable and wet rather than the stunning snow which is further in land.

B&W 2
Pink Contrast

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.