Dave's Views

By davethespoon

The Very Hungry Caterpillar

Working in the garden this afternoon I suddenly noticed the Scarlet Tiger Moth caterpillars (callimorpha dominula) for the first time this year, nibbling the Green Alkanet. Most years we have hundreds of these caterpillars in the garden and they particularly like the Comfrey which is just starting to come through. If you don't know what scarlet tiger moths look like then check out these images. We grow the comfrey as a green fertiliser and there's plenty to share with a few hundred hungry caterpillars, especially as they grow up to be so pretty.

I'm pleased to say that I've just taken a print of one of my blips (now called Dusk in the deep wood) to hang in an exhibition. This is the first time one of my photos has been in public view, so there's a small step towards bigger exhibitions to come. This one is for photographs taken at Gloucestershire Wildlife Trust sites. So just a small step but fun to tweak the image a bit and get it printed 20x30inches and framed. It'll be interesting to see what kind of feedback I get, if any.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.