Seeing as I am

By seeingasiam

Daffy-down-dilly...

...came up in the cold, Through the brown mould Although the March breeze blew keen on her face, Although the white snow lay in many a place.
Anna B. Warner


Even more spring-like large.

I love the name Daffy-down-dilly. Seems to suit them so well. They are so blowsy and bright and just a tiny bit vulgar. They remind me of 'those girls' at school...the ones who talked that bit louder than everyone else and were more confident than I was. The ones who wore bright make-up and the wrong colour school cardi. The ones I was not supposed to hang around with. Among the delicate pale blossoms of spring, daffodils make sure they stand proud in their little groups and shout 'Look at us..ain't we just the coolest kids on the block.' If Daffy-down-dilly was a teen...she'd definitely hitch her skirt up a bit and sneak off for a smoke behind the bike-sheds!

I can't get enough of daffs but they are so difficult to shoot. Something to do with their colour and shape. Expect a few more Daffy-down-dilly shots this week as I'm determined to get to grips with them photographically.

I found a shop selling off-cuts of fabric and bought some red and yellow gingham to double as tablecloths for still life shoots...can't do reflections all the time, much as I love my granite table ;-) I also bought an old blue coffee pot from a charity shop for £1.99 to double as a vase. I thought blue and yellow would work well. Gawd...I'm buying props now...I've got this shutterbug really bad haven't I? There is no hope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.