Every Little Step

By moonfairy

Come on I'll take you for a walk!

When we were given Sophia, we were advised to make her an indoor cat as she is a Ragdoll. This is because they are too friendly and will go off with anyone and will not fight off other cats (mind you having seen her having a few spats with Neo, not sure the last statement is true,)

I've never had an indoor cat before. All my other cats have always gone out, especially at night and come back with little presents. I've never had cat doors either as I've never liked the idea of them bringing back their wildlife and letting it loose in the house. Mind you I still used to get the odd mouse inside when I opened the door, and didn't spot the tail hanging out the mouth.

So, I don't miss the constant getting up and down to either let a cat out or let a cat in.

However, I wasn't that keen on her never going outside, so I trained her to walk on a lead. I had hoped to eventually walk her in the street, but the only time I tried it, the first car that went by, she jumped about 3 feet in the air, and rushed back home. So now we just walk around the garden.

As Sophia is an indoor cat, Neo will have to be too. He's already had a collar on, which he doesn't mind, but as soon as the lead goes on, it's playtime.

We are waiting until he is a bit bigger to take him out and a bit calmer!!

He's very fast and if for any reason he got away I'm not sure I'd be able to catch him.

Sophia has only ever got out the front door once without a lead. As a kitten she used to rush to the door when I was going to work, and one day she got out, but she just wandered around the front lawn and I was able to walk upto her and pick her up. With Neo I think he might just run off.

Still we shall see, but somehow I can't see me taking them both for a walk at the same time, just at the moment.









Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.