KatGirl

By katgirl

Not

We have lived in many states in the past 18 years, and New York is by far my favorite place to live.

However, the county board of elections cannot seem to register me to vote. I have submitted the application one, two, three times. I spoke with a lady in the office 6 weeks ago who assured me that I was registered and OK to vote today.

But the poor ladies running the poll today were all in a tizzy when I showed up, because my name was completely absent from their books. I even brought Bob along to introduce him to democracy at work. Instead, we all had a lesson in the perils of bureaucracy. They finally give me a ballot to fill out by hand and an affadavit to sign that I am truly eligible to vote. Last time I did this, I received a letter one month later that my ballot was not accepted. So my vote will probably end up in the round file once again. Bob couldn't understand why I didn't fill in all the Bubbles (Bob would have voted for Hillary, Obama, and Edwards - but not Kucinich or Richardson). Maybe he'll understand that better by the election in November.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.