While on my runs

By waipushrink

Autumnal roses

The list of challenge themes I printed out at the beginning of my participation in the 2011 Challenge had this week listed as Spring/Autumn. I have therefore been looking to a Southern hemisphere approach to the challenge i.e autumn I have seen that there is some debate on that. Having seen some links in previous weeks with little or no connection to the theme, I will reference this unless asked to remove it.

It is a photograph taken while on my run this morning through Gribblehirst Park. A month or so ago, this rose bed was looking quite bedraggled, near the end of its beauty I thought. This morning the roses looked splendid and the botanically educated S informed me that many roses will have a second flowering in autumn. So this isn't just a hangover effect.

I switched the flash on for this shot, and that has created some flatness in the image. However, it has presented the colour of the roses as I saw then (in the semi dark), and I am delighted to see the drops of water shining on the rose petals.

When humans harness nature to create beauty, we are creative. This is a free, open, public park. The roses have no purpose other than to provide their viewers with happiness and comfort and hopefully peace.

My run energised me for the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.