Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Lancaster Alley

Today saw me travelling over to Lancaster for a meeting, which is a pleasure because of both the beautiful train journey on the Little North Western and the fact that I lived in Lancaster for nine years, so I get to briefly catch sight of some old haunts.

Walking between the train station and the University of Cumbria campus, I pass a few of the houses that I used to live in, and this alley shot features one of them. Our 'front' entrance was through one of these back gates, as we had the basement and ground floor of a converted house. While this might not be the tourist image of Lancaster: the castle, the Ashton Memorial, or the view to the Lakeland mountains over Morecambe Bay, it captures some of the essence of the place for me.

As I often do, I wrote a micropoetry travelogue by Twitter as I was going along. I've collated today's fourteen poems on my other blog.

I didn't get the best of views on the train journeys, as there was fog at the Yorkshire end, thinning to mist in Lancashire, but on the way back I spotted deer and rabbits, a Grey Heron, a Buzzard and lots of Pheasants. And sheep, lots of sheep, with quite a few new lambs amongst them.

walking ~ down alleys ~ looking ~ for ghosts ~ familiar cobbles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.