The water routine

It's very late and as I post this I'm thinking of Japan. What can you say? You are in our thoughts and prayers.

I'm still computer-less but at least I have my phone. It is hard to use a little screen for any length of time so my commenting is limited.

Water comes from my taps but it is not safe to drink. The bucket on the left has water purified with bleach. I use this for washing fruit and veges and heating to wash dishes.

The bucket on the right has water either boiled for 3 minutes or if I'm in a hurry purified using tablets.

The dropper in the foreground is for measuring drops of bleach per litre of water.

The plastic container standing on the left is some of my pre-quake water supply stored under my stairs. In normal times Christchurch has one of the purist water supplies of anywhere in the world. I either drink this or the water I've boiled/used tablets to purify.

The supply under the stairs is a treat and I'm mindful I need to replace it as I use it.

Water purified with bleach or tablets needs to sit for 30 mins before use.

Yes, it takes a bit longer to do the basics and often I go to clean my teeth and remember I need to go back downstairs to get the glass with the cover over it in the photo.

Water is precious and I count myself fortunate to have a supply I can use.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.