Miss Hedgepenny's World

By MissHedgepenny

Dad's Things

I keep my late Father's Binoculars and Field Guide on the window ledge of my study ready to spot any rarity which appears in the garden.

I love using his things, you can see worn spots on the bins where he used them so much and the book is squashed to the shape of his pocket and still has his tide table from 1989 between the pages.

I got into birding after his death, I often wonder what he would have thought of my birding/twitching exploits over the years. Would he have been proud of me or would he have thought I was nuts! He was a very quiet man who kept himself to himself, we didn't talk much and in a way I feel I never really knew him so it's hard to know what he would have thought.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.