Forgive me DrCraig for I have sinned

It's been seven days since my last colour photo and in those seven days I have stuck to the path of Texture and Tone. Each day, I have, as decreed, removed almost the entire colour spectrum from every photograph I've taken. I have played with my sliders, upping the contrast, lowering the brightness, nudging up the structure, applying mock 'orange' filters, emulating grain, burning the edges and generally dodging the shadows and preventing the highlights from clipping. The only concession to colour has been a light toning of brownness.

Today I have shamed myself. In public and on a busy Edinburgh street. I took it out and within one thousandth of a second all my good work of the past week was washed away. But it was a scene too vibrant for the colour to be taken away. The mottled filters, the rain-soaked papers absorbing tobacco dyes, the touch of lipstick just couldn't be thrown away.

Back on the straight and narrow tomorrow. Promise.

Get a lungful!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.