The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Berhills Farm

Having been alerted to the fact that in a further sign of Spring the calves had been returned to the fields on the open access lands to the north of Calne town centre, I ventured over there yesterday afternoon for a quick blip for the 2011 Challenge.

As it happened they had gathered in another field higher up and so I couldn't get as close to them as I wanted without going onto private farm land. A group of them eventually wandered over to a gate in the side of an enclosure that I was standing beside the bottom of, and so I was able to zoom in on a couple of them from over the top of a wall. Most of them were Fresians but this bullock's colouring caught my eye. I dare say I shall be photographing them over the year as they grow larger.

My walks over Berhills Farm have sometimes been accompanied by incessant barking coming from the houses nearby, disturbing the tranquility of the scene for everyone, and on this occasion as I walked back, past the bottom of the garden of the farmhouse, three dogs came charging down the garden, all barking as loudly as they could, clearly under the impression that I was up to no good and should move on. I felt harassed. It was a long time before a farmer came out and called them off with a cheery wave to me. Grrrr.

L.
17.3.2011

Lens: Sigma 70-300mm

Backblip: Bradford-on-Avon Tithe Barn (15.3.2011)

Alternatives:
Cattle #2
Canine Unwelcoming Committee



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.