Seeing as I am

By seeingasiam

Sláinte

Happy St. Patrick's Day!

Now, Bob is half Chinese and half Irish...an interesting combination (dual heritage is, I believe, the PC term) which means we get to celebrate Chinese New Year AND St. Paddy's Day :-)

Unfortunately I forgot about St. Patrick's Day until this morning. So...you will note that the very un-Irish vegetable and walnut pie-with cheesy pastry crust I was making when I remembered, is adorned with a shamrock and served with a shamrock Guinness and thus becomes...pauses for a drum roll...St.Patrick's Pie. Ta Daaaa.

Who would have thought that decorating a pie with a clumsy-looking shamrock would make it taste better? Well...according to H St. Patrick's Pie is 'the best pie ever!' and he ate a huge slice...of vegetable pie...VEGETABLE pie!! So now I know if I want him to eat something he usually finds unpalateable I simply have to garnish it and give it a fancy name...something I suspect top chefs cottoned on to many years ago.

Beannachtaí na Féile Pádraig oraibh!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.