Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

My river

This morning was spent at Orton Pit, doing the last session of willow clearance this season. Alex worked with Pete, chopping down satisfyingly large macho trees - I captured a great sequence of the two of them working on a particularly tricky one, but to be appreciated they really need to be seen as a set. I took a saw and found a quiet corner to work in, with willows of a more manageable size. I really enjoyed doing all the work on my own - but two hours of solid sawing and heaving branches has left my shoulders and upper arms really quite painful.

After taking the boys bowling this afternoon, I managed to sneak in a dog walk along the River Nene just before dusk. After a grey start to the day, a watery sun had appeared and I was hoping there might be a nice sunset. This never transpired, but I enjoyed the peace and quiet, and was excited to see the bright blue flash of a kingfisher darting under the red bridge. Somehow this view sums up the peace I always feel when walking along my river, a soothing end to a busy day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.