Role Model

Another cracking morning with loads of dog company fro Juno.

Work was a abstract of brilliance.

Took my boots to get resoled, they said it was no woirth it, so new hiking boots to be purchased soon.

I have been neglecting my history of Ecodad in 100 blips , so here is another one.

This is my Uncle Bruce. When my father left he was such a positive male role model for me. Bruce and his wife Gill used to babysit us and look after us. We always tease them about killing our tropical fish still, they were babysitting us when the fish tank thenostat broke and the water started overheating and the fish all died.

He was always there for us and my mother, now I can give something back.

He is doing the West Highland way with his eldest son in a couple of weeks time and he wanted to get some training done. So I have been taking him round Blackford and Braid Hill in the dark fro a couple of hours each Thursday. He has never done anything like this so I am lending hime some of my hill and camping stuff. He is also after advice and just a general chat.

It is interesting chatting to him about his life, he left school young got an apprenticeship and still works for that company in management, married young and had kids early(as was the way) and it is now he has time to do the sort of thing I did when I was studying and young.

So on today's walk we saw a beautiful sunset, clear skies with a fullish moon, a man playing golf in the pitch dark with no torch and not many people.

Thanks Bruce.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.