the lightness of my life

By lightness

Wanderlust

My new camera came in the mail today! :D
I'm so happy. Just have to obtain a battery now. I already have 10 rolls of 120 film on the way. Yeah, film is going out right? I thought so too. Until I joined flickr and started, you know, browsing and marking favorites and such, well in review of that, I found many of my favorite photos were shot on film, on either Leica M series cameras or medium format cameras. Leica M cameras (even old ones) will run me several thousands. Ouch. I thought my DSLR was expensive! But I was able to obtain a medium format, Bronica ETRs camera for not too much. I can't wait to give it a go. I'm sure I'll mostly shoot digital for the convenience but when I'm feeling romantic and overly artistic, I'm going to go film. I'll try to leave a day or two empty for that on here when I do shoot (processing takes time).
Well, anyway, I usually try to avoid the talking about method and technique as I'm sure it bores most of you to death. But today was a special day :)

Tried to call my Girlfriend last night but the calling cards that work with my cell phone were sold out so sadly settled with an email and read myself to sleep.
This is a strange place I live and strange times of transition. I am trying to settle down but something in me just wants to do something crazy and have an adventure. I was so so so sorely tempted to just stay in China and make a go of it there, teaching english or whatever. The only thing that kept me straight was my girl and knowing she was coming back to NZ and I wanted to be with her then.
I Swear I must have had some crazy explorer kind of ancestors. My mom feels it too, at least once every year she starts to come down with what she calls "Wanderlust", the need to go, get away and change everything.
Have you ever started your life over? It is the most exciting and brilliant feeling I've ever experienced personally. Well, until you do it 5 or 6 times. Then it starts wearing.
My dad still can't understand why I choose to live 31 hours flight time away from my family. That's right, I picked a spot on the opposite side of the globe, as far from family and safety as I could possibly get, somewhere where I didn't know a soul and said to myself, I have enough for a plane ticket and three weeks rent, here I go...
It's in the blood (not dad's side obviously). One of my brothers has lived in Taiwan and China for years at a time, my other brother called Japan his home for nearly 2 years, my sister lived in Albania and married a local there, my other sister picked up and moved as far as she could from home (without leaving the U.S.) when she was 17. And me, on the other side of the world for no apparent reason other than to give it a go. It's gotta be in the blood.
Anyway, I am definitely rambling now. Time to sign off and sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.