That Will Do!

By flumgummery

Arms And The Man

I went down to North Berwick today, alone, solo and all by myself. Not to run away in a huff or anything but because when there two weeks ago I managed to lose my camera case, containing my spare battery and memory card, and the police haven't received it from any honest person or well-wisher. I was afraid if I'd dropped it in a charity shop they might sell it so I went to ask them.

Nobody had seen it.

I consoled myself with another browse and came home with this delightful book, first edition, first impression 1953, published by Thomas Nelson and Sons Ltd.. Also interesting is the newspaper cutting found inside, of the obituary of Don Pottinger, who died on June 14, 1986.

Mr John Inglis Drever Pottinger, Don since childhood as a mispronunciation of John, became interested in heraldry when, in 1949, he was commissioned to paint the official portrait of Lord Lyon King of Arms, Sir Thomas Innes of Learney. Through this he met Sir Iain Montcreiffe of That Ilk, and they collaborated on this book and another, entitled Simple Customs, Cheerfully Illustrated.

Coats Of Arms do not belong exclusively to Monarchy or aristocracy, as the book reveals. Communities, Realms, Fiefs, Nations, Republics, Towns and Districts, Companies, Corporate Bodies and Officials are all represented.

Some compensation, I have replaced the camera case and contents so I'm back to normal. And it was a lovely day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.