Monochrome

I've noticed that others don't adore black and white photography like I do. There is something calming about it for me. When I was very small, I noticed an Ansel Adams photograph in someone's home. It was love at first sight. I was probably only 4 or 5 years old but never forgot that image.

Today was relaxed and peaceful. My boys and I just hung around the house drinking tea and doing puzzles. I am constantly amazed by my 5 year old and his skill with puzzles. He completed his first 100 piece puzzle today all on his own. This is a new one straight out of the box. I'm still working on my 500 piece challenge. It feels good to use my brain.

While puzzling, I watched a great live workshop on posing and lighting presented by Bambi Cantrell. I found the site creativelive.com a few months back, and they have workshops on photography. The only caveat is you have to watch it live in order for it to be free of cost. I'm really enjoying it actually and have learned so many wonderful things. My toughest area is most definitely posing. Now I'm bubbling with ideas and can't wait for tomorrow's live cast to finish up the class.

The weather was dreary most of the day, but the sun finally came out to grace us in the evening. The air wasn't warm, but it wasn't as cold as it has been. I wandered about the yard seeking new life, but it is tough to find. The unusually cold weather complete with lots of hail, has stunted or ruined some of the spring growth I was so looking forward to enjoying.

So a monochrome image to calm my nerves. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.