A Pinch of Progress

By deansy010

Knox Church

This is what remains of Knox Presbyterian Church in Christchurch after the earthquake. It suffered the same unfortunate fate of many of the heritage buildings in Christchurch, and I believe is now set for demolition.

This is one of the shots I took yesterday when I went for a bike tour of the city to see how close I could get to the CBD. To my surprise I found that the cordon was even more extensive than it had been just over three weeks ago. This church was at the edge of it, still patrolled by thoroughly bored looking soldiers. When I ventured around the city on the day of the earthquake (foolishly forgetting my camera in all the chaos) I made it much further than this point. But even from the edge of the cordon it's possible to look inside and see the city still lies in utter ruin.

Another HDR processed image.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.