Mainichi no Kioku

By saki

Peace

Crane in Japan means peace.

Legend says that anyone who folds one thousand paper cranes will have their heart's desire come true. A young Japanese girl named Sadako Sasaki was exposed to the radiation of the atomic bombing of Hiroshima as an infant, and it took its inevitable toll on her health. She was then an atom bomb survivor.

By the time she was twelve in 1955, she was dying of leukemia. Hearing the legend, she decided to fold one thousand origami cranes so that she could live. However, when she saw that the other children in her ward were dying, she realized that she would not survive and wished instead for world peace and an end to suffering.

I couldn't fold a thousand cranes but I know people in Taiwan are doing so to pray as well as raise some funds for them.

I pray for world peace from the bottom of my heart...

View my Pray for Japan series on my Facebook! Feel free to add me as friend if you want to.

Saki.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.