Life Naturally

By lifenaturally

Visit of a Lifetime.....

Ever since I started reading British mystery stories when I was a kid, I have dreamed of England and Scotland. In high school, when I read Shakespeare's lines, ".....this sceptred isle, this other eden, this demi-paradise....." a yearning began in me that has not abated through the years. I'm also a Stewart, with family roots in Scotland.

When it became possible to see BBC television productions - "Poldark", "All things Great and Small", "Foyle's War", "Midsomer Murders" and "Doc Martin", being some of my favorites for scenery - my resolve strengthened.

There have always been seemingly good reasons why I did not/could not make the trip, usually financial ;-( I'm still not rich, but have been putting away my pennies and suddenly, my dream is going to come true for 12 days this coming May. I have my passport as you can see, a current map, a plane ticket, and an adventurous spirit. I'm not a set tour kind of person, but have been reading online and also have travel brochures about all the places I hope to see.

It is in large part, the photos and narrative voices of blippers in the UK that have made me realize what I would be missing if I never made this visit. Your personal look at your cities and towns, your admiration and pride in your surroundings, your love of the countryside, your interest in ancient buildings and their history - all have been instrumental in helping me to take the plunge and plan what will be for me a journey I have waited for most of my life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.