David Sugden's Oddities

By dsugden

Spring Clean

We were promised a 'fine' weekend and give or take the odd drizzle on Sunday, that's what we got. It was time to clean up the garden some more, so that's what we did.

And we're both worn out now!

I'd borrowed Emma and Charlie's jet-wash to clean up the flags and patio, which after seven and a half years of Sugden occupation needed some attention. When we first moved here, I used to clean the windows and tidy up the garden at this time of year and then along came self-employment and that sort of thing just didn't get done. Sharon has always been very good at keeping the garden up to scratch, but this year we thought it needed a bigger coat of looking at as the house is for sale.

I spent all of Saturday bathed in a mist of fine spray from the jet wash, but the flags and patio are now brilliantly clean (well, sort of - they are old after all). I finished in time to watch the second half of Ireland v England - which England lost. All of my joints felt like they needed a little oil by this time and when I got up on sunday, they were no better, but I intended to wash the windows and the PVC nevertheless.

And so I did. Plenty of soapy water (with lots of changes) did the job fairly well, but the special bring-back-the-shine-of-PVC cream was magnificent at making the eyes of the house really shine.

But now my arms refuse to lift and my legs are asking for a seat.

What a great weekend.

The peony will be photographed (if I remember) weekly until it's nearly ready to bloom, and then (possibly) daily!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.