Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Summer Cabin

On the northern fringe of Baildon Moor, just over the boundary wall, are a few cabins like this one, which I assume are summer cabins, although I've never seen signs of one being occupied.

lonely cabin ~ tar paper ~ peeling ~ home ~ of the curlew

I don't know anything about the history of the cabins, although they aren't on the First Edition 1893 OS Map. I would hazard a guess at them dating from between the wars, perhaps associated with the clearance of the nearby hamlet of Sconce in 1934/5. The story of this north-eastern corner of the moor is told very fully in an article by Joyce Percy on the Lost Villages of Baildon Moor. You can see a small set of images from an earlier visit here.

It certainly is a beautiful spot, with plenty of Curlew and one pair of Oystercatchers in the vicinity today.

Finally, a note of thanks to all those that called in to see yesterday's image of the Supermoon rising. I suspect that 750+ views will be a personal record that I'll struggle to surpass.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.