notabeve_dosolare

By notabeve

Reading Corner No. 3

This is the library branch closest to us. For years I didn't even know about it and for some time after learning about it I preferred the bigger collection and space at the downtown branch. Now that my habits have changed to placing internet holds on any books I want I use this a lot as a pick up point.

It first opened in 1913. In the intervening years the small wooden building has been moved twice, swept once by fire and restored. Its public space is probably no bigger than our living room and dining room but its hours suit me and the librarians are great. In a few weeks it will close and move to bigger, brighter, brand new premises a few blocks away from its current location.

Curiously enough, its collection of on-premise books will be smaller. Apparently that's the current trend in libraries. The books that can be brought in on request are practically limitless. The browsing collections , though smaller, are more easily viewed because they're displayed bookstore style.

After a dull snowy day I had hopes for a bit of sunset light. Since it didn't materialize this has been shamelessly warped with Photoshop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.