Trisharooni

By trisharooni

Weed of the Month

It's been miserable all day and I haven't been out, except to pick up the paper, which, of course was right under the car.
It's a sight to see.  Me, crawling round in the rain, in my dressing gown and ugg boots, sometimes with an egg scraper if it's in the centre of the car.
That's a blip you won't be seeing!

So just snapped these on my hall table.

These are the fruit of montbretia, which I've never really noticed before, but which I think are quite delicate and attractive.
They mainly reproduce by the corms, which can easily spread out and become matted.
I'm guessing they're not the weed in the UK that they are here. Because they're so hardy and will grow in any soil, with a little or a lot of water they are a big threat to native bushland here.

Indeed the Blue Mountains Council has several pages devoted to them, and ways to eradicate them, with the heading, 'Weed of the Month'. I think they've been weed of the month for years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.