Way of Life

By wayoflife

Man

I managed to meet a lot of friends today. First I met the British contingent at a hotel near the British Embassy where we collected our iodine tablets. The tablets prevent your body from taking up radioactive iodine if you are exposed to it. You are supposed to take the tablets within a few hours of exposure. We were given two doses each, which gives you 48 hours to get away from the source of the exposure. The Japanese government hasn't began giving out the tablets to their nationals yet so I've shared mine with my girlfriend. Hopefully we will not be given the chance to use them.

After the embassy, I met up with a few friends I hadn't seen in a while at the beer vending machines in Yurakucho. The streets were as busy as usual with the usual comings and goings. Different groups of people dropped by the vending machines for a quick drink and then disappeared into the night. We even saw some of the guests from the wedding in the hotel where I got my tablets earlier who were staggering the streets a little worse for wear. The only reminder that anything was amiss was that lots of the street lights and advertising-board lights had been turned off to preserve electricity. You can see some people's priorities though as the beer vending machines were still on...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.