Mimsdaze

By Mimthing

Egg bucket

This lovely old egg bucket was given to me by my Mum some years ago, she used it when we lived down the other end of the village and had a small holding -as most village people did then.

I took up tenancy of the field in the middle of the village 11yrs ago and got myself a mixture of chickens and 3 geese.
We had a couple of turkeys for a few years but the fox got the hen and the stag became a bit too aggressive towards us in the spring time, he went to another place with plenty of ladies to occupy him -he was a very big Norfolk black/bronze and was really quite scary, he would sneak up behind you and jump at your back........not nice.

We've been a way for a night over the weekend playing with the Grandkids so I didn't collect eggs on Saturday morning and this is the result.

It could be said the girls are in full lay right now.
I also have 35 goose eggs and only one buyer of 6 a fortnight, it's a good job they keep well.

Weather here is abolutley glorious, fluffy clouds, blue skies and sunshine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.