an image of teamdel

By teamdel

Into Everything

Recently I have upgraded my baggage handling to work. I have upgraded from rucksack to panniers. This upgrade so far has gone well. Things are easier to get to when running late for the train and my back is happier with this new method also. The only downside is the extra weight when carrying the bike over the bridges at stations.

Whilst I have been getting used to the new bags I have not been taking camera number two with me to work instead opting for my phone which takes dubious pictures when not outdoors so I tend not to bother using it.

Tomorrow I will be packing the camera as tonight I missed a blip of Peter. Peter was a rather tatty looking old chap with his bike on the train. At first glance he looked a bit worse for wear being a bit tatty with his bicycle basket full of old empty cans and plastic bottles, with two weathered plastic flowers poking through. This is probably why the commuters were keeping their distance. I also noticed a rather posh shopping bag hanging from his bike handle.

Well the bike section was full so we had to stand holding our bikes and he started chatting to me. He had gone for a day out as it was the anniversary of the death of his sister to celebrate her a bit. He had opted to take his bike to Guildford and then Godalming.

He was originally from Henley and was really into his rowing. He told me how he had had to move to central London as a teenager as his father needed work and he was very upset to have left Henley.

He was excited about the boat race coming up in the next few weeks. He then told me he had blown all his shopping money on a nice shirt in Guildford to wear when he goes up to watch the race itself on the Thames, hence the posh shopping bag. It was important for hime to have a nice shirt as he was sure he would probably be snapped by the press whilst watching. A few years ago he was quoted in the times and last year there was a picture of him at the race in the Country Life magazine so he had to look good.

I then had to leave to change trains so I wished Peter well and bid him farewell and as I got off I realised I should have blipped him with my phone, but it was too late. If I had had my camera I probably would have done so as I kind of forget about the phone.

So instead Baby ends up blipped again. All children need to be pictured playing in the wash basket, I reckon, so here is his moment. He is really close to being mobile now and tends to throw himself at things, hence he kept throwing himself out of the basket. Luckily I was on hand to catch him.

The old chap Peter on the train asked me if my children were sporty. I said they were a little too young to tell, though on the evidence of baby leaping out of the basket I don't think he will be much cop in a row boat, He would end up getting a bit wet no doubt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.