dsyglsy

By dsyglsy

teenage coaching...

I coached some teenagers at junior badminton tonight...but actually it would be fair to say I did nothing except take their money then play angry birds while they flirted with each other, played banging tunes on a stereo that had appeared from somewhere, took photos of each other and played really pathetic badminton. usually, I'd be right in there switching the music off, getting them to warm up first, mixing up the players and playing a game at the end - but you know what, I couldn't be arsed. one girl rolled her eyes when she saw I was the coach tonight - because last time I was on, I actually made her play some badminton! god, how unreasonable was I that week!?

you can see a wee gaggle of girlies in this photo not playing badminton. when I was a teenager, I was probably a nightmare too - but when I went to badminton, I went to play (and win). not many of these kids are like that - I blame 'potted sports'...there's no emphasis on winning anymore.

the boys tend to be ok, but they told me that the other coaches let them listen to music - and I couldn't really think of a reason to put it off...but having met some other coaches, it turns out this is not true.

next time...big bad badminton coach will return...and I'll be cracking skulls.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.