Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Sitting in the morning sun

...watching cats.

Reu has a cold and has gone to the ER for a check up (edit: home now and rascalling again), so we're at home, and Callum very snottily has fallen asleep on me now, much as he did when I would baby wear him. Everybody needs a bosom for a pillow. Loving his warmth. It's been cold and wet here and I've been lusting after your warmer days in the UK. My neighbour's tree was taken by the storm and leaves a sad and lonely void where once pear blossom bloomed. But as cumulus mushroom into the skies, creating a panoramic view which is uncharacteristic of LA's exceptionally dry desert air and perma blue skies, I notice now the sun is out again, streaming into the kitchen where Callum has sat to drink his organic grape juice and watch the cats go by.

No, your eyes do not deceive you, your screen is not dirty. Callum's lovely orange drawings on the wall I think will continue to remain, if only for the "Naughty Callum" remarks by Reuben and indeed Callum every time they look at them.

And on the subject of boobies, what did I see in my goodie bag from last night but two stress relieving boobies from one of the vendors, an LA plastic surgeon. Just what every bride wants. One's now nipple free thanks to Callum. Ouch. Just dare me to do the Blip.

We've exhausted every puzzle, one of Callum's favourite activities. When I watch him through the observation room at school, he equally gobbles them up and I find it hard to pull myself away then and do something constructive for myself, not wanting to miss a thing. I love too the usual perspective granted by such a secret view.

Tonight, I realised how much Reuben can read from "Green Eggs and Ham", not from memory of the verse, but from phonetics and word recognition. What a milestone to look forward to, him being able to read his way through.

Let the backBlips begin:
Oscar night

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.