Focus Pocus

By FocusPocus

Doing Time : Casio F91W

In a random moment of nostalgia (and due to current cheap watch battery failing) I bought a Casio F91W on Amazon. A great bit of retro styling for about the cost of two beers. I couldn't remember if it was an 80's or 90's watch so I turned to Google. Apparently issued initially in 1991.

It's seems to have developed quite an interesting story. The watch of choice for terrorists who need a timer for an explosive device and is specifically listed in the Guantanamo inmates tribunal reports according to Wikipedia!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Guantanamo_Bay_detainees_accused_of_possessing_Casio_watches

The good news for the inmates is that it also comes in orange. The bad news for me is I need another watch for when I go through US boarder controls in the future.

... It was a quiet day at work:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.