UNFINISHED JOURNEY - THE CIRCLE OF LIFE

A few days ago an email from a dear friend of over 30 years prompted me to dig this ragged and well thumbed tome, out of a box of unpacked books. The simple volume assumed an almost oracle like significance for me between 1991 - 1993 as I researched and eventually built the last on which to build one of these beautiful cedar and canvas canoes. It enabled me to get into the mindset of a fellow Scot - Sir Alexander Mackenzie - whose journals I eventually retraced across more than 4,500 miles of northern Canadian river systems up to the Arctic and then eventually over the Rockies to the Pacific. I wrote about it briefly here

A song which has always reminded me of that journey - although it didn't become significant until a year after my journey - and which my youngest son Ciaran loved to sing was CIRCLE OF LIFE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.