Some blips are things of aesthetic quality and some tell a story. I think you can tell which type this one is...

This is an old hyacinth bowl, given to me as a birthday present about 5 years ago - maybe even longer - by my good friend Sharyn. The hyacinth that it contained at the time was lovely, and so was the bowl, which you can't really see here but it is a pleasing shape and it has a lovely green crazed-glaze surface.

Since moving house, the bowl has become the receptacle for those little bits and pieces that don't really have a home but might just come in useful one day. As I've only been living here a short while, there aren't many things in this collection yet, but it's growing and it gives me comfort that it's growing - to me it represents the fact that I am building a home here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.