Brian's Bits

By Kanyl

Showroom condition?

The steed was in for a service last week and their mechanics' ears detected a noise which they diagnosed as a belt fault (Timing or similar). All day job today to put it right, FREE waHEY!

For the duration of the service we had a C30. NOT an old man's car, it took all my ingenuity to workout how to get into the back seat to retrive the keys I accidentally dropped along with the day-sack.
Then I had hell's delight trying to return to the status quo and had horrible visions of adopting a Quasimodo-crouch back to the garage.

This time there was a note saying NOT a C30, result a this year's S60 ... More problems.
I had to collar one of the sales staff to locate the "HAND"(???)-brake, which consisted of a funny wee button under the dash.
Next problem ... no ignition key ... DUH!?! This I sussed out due to a gaping hole in the dash-board the same size/shape as the "Zapper", beside another wee button marked "Stop/Start".

Got to Carlise for a look around/shop and was just about to 'phone the garage to ask how to start the blessed thing when I tried for the umpteenth time, this time with a foot on the depressed clutch. WHOOPEEEEE!

I could have managed this one no trouble.
They made them between 1956 & 1970, if I remember rightly F was about '65-'66ish.
A) They don't make 'em like that any more.
B) I knew how to drive it - (given the chance).
C) How many made these days would be made in such a HUGE time slot?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.