The Lizard Meanders

By lizardmeanders

Craving Citrus

Yet another foodie blip: I hope you'll be patient and indulge me. It's been absofrickinglutely hectic at work what with the semester coasting to a close. And we are in the midst of admissions for fall 2011, so it feels like some days I do nothing but answer correspondence...

The good news is that it truly feels that spring has come to our part of the world. The dogwood are in bloom, and a great many other trees and plants. Another sure sign: the hubby's allergies have kicked in with a vengeance.

It may be the milder weather, and the soft gorgeous colors we're starting to see all around-- I notice I've been craving citrus flavors lately-- especially since we have lots of lemons in the kitchen. So, for instance, my family has had to endure lashings of Citrus Pudding (I've made it thrice in a row in the past week) - I suspect it may be my downfall yet. And tonight I whipped up some Garlic Citrus Shrimp.

* * *

I've also been a little behind in posting daily links to the poems I write that get put up on Dave Bonta's Via Negativa-- but here is one from two days ago, "Landscape with Sudden Rain, Wet Blooms, and a Van Eyck Painting"; if you work forward from there you'll be able to catch up.

* * *

OK OK you asked. But be warned, I am an intuitive cook. Measurements are approximate.

Garlic Citrus Shrimp

4 cloves minced garlic
tiny knob ginger, sliced into thin discs
shrimp, shelled and deveined; pat dry and in a prep container,
sprinkle 2 tsp cornstarch and coat evenly by hand
rind from a third of the surface of a small lemon - snip into tiny confetti strips
with a pair of kitchen shears
peas
cubed carrots
diced asparagus (I used white asparagus here)
quartered button mushrooms (you can use shiitake too)

before cooking, mix up ingredients for sauce and have it at the ready:
4 tsp cornstarch dissolved in half a cup of water
juice of half a small lemon
2-3 Tbsp honey
3-4 Tbsp light soy sauce
dash of garlic powder
a few sprigs of snipped green onion

In a large wok or skillet, heat 2 Tbsp peanut or vegetable oil.
Saute garlic and ginger until fragrant.
Add shrimp to the pan and cook through till nearly done.
Add snipped lemon rind.
Add vegetables.
Keep stirring briskly.

When vegetables are nearly done, pour the cornstarch-thickened sauce over the lot and heat through until it bubbles and thickens. Serve over hot rice.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.