Thistle Down

By Ethel

A Heaven to Make - Part Three

Shadows deepen...an open horizon lay,
Clouds hang low...when I start on my way.
Is the distance long...will spirit soar,
I tip-toe softly, and gently close the door.

So much of space extending there,
Through mist-dimmed eyes, I stand and stare.
I knew by then, that souls immortal,
Were dwelling...just inside the portal.

I watched the moments stand,
And then I touched a gentle hand.
My eyes were bright and opened wide,
A few slow steps...then I was inside.

Every one was busy, and each one knew,
Where he was going, and what he would do.
I saw a city, pillowed up in textured white,
As terraced shadows stretched through-out the night.

A stairway...edging up with marble-stone,
Reached to a tower...leading to a throne.
A golden throne...with alter place,
Where souls can look...to see the Master's face.

A place...where glory does entwine,
And exalted lives prove every bit divine.
Where all the splendor of a lavished dream,
Ties great wisdom...to mighty worlds supreme.

For mighty are the creations, with none to miss,
Eternal works...these of heavenly bliss.
So much...that souls seek out their rights,
And ever reach to gain celestial heights.

And there I waited...with my head up high,
I started climbing...upward in the sky.
I waited for some time to admire,
The beauteous sound of an angel choir.

And then it was...someone quietly bore,
Me back to earth and through a door.
Where I made a vow...a fresh new start,
To live again...and do a better part.

So surely...surely would I try,
Ere comes my time on earth to die.
I'd strive for a heaven to be my goal,
Where time would magnify my soul.

A place...in those holy realms above,
With my open arms, and a heart full of love,
So if I am worthy, there'll be no doubt,
Just that kind of heaven that I dream about.


E.P. 1908 - 1989

This is the last of the three-part poem, "A Heaven to Make".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.