Photofabulous!!

By Ilaria

My childhood dream cottage.....

Went a trip down memory lane today....to a place I have not visited for at least 20 years! A very nostalgic journey!

This is the ruin of a cottage I longed to own as a child! I used to say that when I grew up I was going to buy it and rebuild it, and live there forever!!! It was a ruin then, and is even more so now! I actually was a bit overwhelmed today to find it still standing!! There's no road, no path, nothing around it except moorland, and behind...the Pentland Hills.

It was so strange going back. My childhood was very painful for many reasons, and up on the moor was where I could escape that. You climbed over the stile into another, better, safer, more beautiful world!! And when you walked forward you eventually came to my cottage!! Today I was a little startled really....because as a scenic view there are far more beautiful ones elsewhere....yet there is a stark beauty on a moor. But even more pronouced was the NOISE!! Nothing but birds...one in particular! I managed to take a shot of this bird, and I would love it if anyone could look here and let me know what it is!!! In my blipfolio for today (see link!) there are also another couple of shots of the surrounding area, and a tree I found with amazing buds and old cones on the branches, but can't identify!!

Anyway...a more serious blip today....but a day that left me feeling so incredibly happy that I grew up with this amazing countryside around me!! It touched me today in the same way it used to....leaving me filled with a peace and joy that left me smiling inside....!!!

Have a great night!!!










EDIT....I don't know how you hit the Spotlight page, but that's my second time now, (yesterday's blip!), so a HUGE thanks to all responsible!!! And again, thank you all for your lovely words and support!!!!!! :-)))))))






Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.