an itching in my thumbs

By itchythumbs

Mail

I love the mail. For as long as I can remember I've been fascinated with sending letters, cards, packages. I always loved receiving mail, even when the mail is unimportant junk mail.

These days, I send much more mail than the average person. I collect postcards and send them out often, as well as exchanging letters with one of my good friends fairly regularly and sending cards and packages to others. I think there is something miraculous about how the mail works - you put a simple 44 cent stamp on something, write a few lines, and it can cross the country. Add another stamp and it can cross the world for just about a dollar. Honestly, it's logistically amazing.

People here so often get frustrated with the USPS (United States Postal Service) - they're too slow, the lines are long, they lose mail, their customer service sucks - and honestly, it's really petty. Most of the time they do not lose mail - trust me, I send a ton of it. And how could they not lose a couple of pieces along the way? Anyway, I really appreciate the postal service. Love it, in fact.

So, getting to the point - most people here don't have mailboxes of the sort I'm used to in Texas - the ones on posts at the end of the driveway. Most mailboxes here are up near the house, and much older, with a lot of variety between boxes. It's also much more common to put names on every single mailbox of every single resident, and what I absolutely love the most is how every building has a different way of marking the boxes. Some are handwritten, some typed, some from a label maker, some from a typewriter. It's lovely. I always think I'll stop and photograph a set of boxes some time. So today I did.

I love the variety of last names in this particular set too - French, Hispanic, and Asian. Boston really isn't quite as diverse as this implies, but it put a smile on my face nonetheless.

Also, three cheers to me for an early blip!

Oh, and I'd be happy to send anyone greetings from Massachusetts via postcard if you're interested!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.