Baggie Trousers

By SkaBaggie

The Times They Are A-Changing

British Summer Time begins in the early hours of tomorrow morning, so I trust everyone's got their kit ready to rush straight off to the park/beach/pub, and milk every precious second for all its worth. I'll be more concerned with remembering to change all the clocks, so I manage to show up to work on time tomorrow.

But it's good to see that my old wristwatch, which I just dug up this afternoon, won't need altering. The strap broke about five years ago, and although I intended to have it fixed, I never found the time (pun thoroughly intended). Even so, it's continued ticking on BST for half a decade, which isn't bad at all considering I bought it for about a fiver from Argos.

A-Ha reckoned that the sun always shines on TV, which just goes to show that they never watched the exhaustive coverage of drenched plastic sheets on Test Match Special. But in fact, the sun does always shine inside my old watch; it's a little compressed world where the days stretch on for years, there's always an ice-cream van within dashing distance, and you can forever hear the faint sound of Soul Limbo.

Happy summertime, everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.