Culinary_Lexicon

By lexicon

Ad Molter's Beer Buns

The semester is winding down, it's cold outside and J is home sick which means it is an excellent weekend to stay home and make beer buns. The recipe for these tasty little morsels was a well kept secret for a long time in my parents neighborhood, but finally the older women who kept it had to succumb to my Dad's pleading (or dashing good looks, the story is unclear). Either was, I am now one of the lucky few who has the recipe and on occasion has the time to make these fussy buns. After chilling the pastry for 12 hours after you make it, you roll it and cut out tiny little squares, pile each with a mixture of ground beef, onion and other secret ingredients, form them into little balls and bake them.

This weekend I made a triple batch hoping that at least some of them will make it back to my parent's place next weekend. J, while he is sick, still has a healthy appetite (and I'm not guilt free myself). The landlords got a plate with 8 buns. We really like them... I hope they know that. 8 buns is a lot to give away!

Now it's time to scrape the pastry/flour concoction off the counter... Eww.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.