Tuscany

By Amalarian

A DREICH DAY FOR A DONKEY

At last, the donkey picture. There were four of them in the field as it turned out. They roam loose in an olive grove where they keep the grass and weeds mowed. It was very neat, I admit, but I noticed they didn't touch the daffodils growing there. I think they are wild ones, but am not sure. The man in the car was through the fence and picking them in haste. A flower thief! What a nerve! This donkey is a female and a mother. Her offspring is about the same size as she is but this does not stop it from following her about for the odd guzzle of milk. Didn't Cleopatra bathe in asses milk?

All four of them seem deeply depressed and miserable. I asked Himself to lift the wire you see but he declined. "It's electric," he said flatly. I saw his point immediately.

In case I couldn't get a donkey in focus, I nosed about the neighbourhood and stuck my camera into the barred window of a disused private chapel and did a lot of other snaps of flowers, villa driveways, etc. etc. etc.

This pic cropped, only.

As it is Sunday, I thought I'd add the chapel interior. I'm always interested to peek inside and imagine the family gathered there in years gone by.

Chapel interior.

For the record: The fun is over. +11 Thick clouds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.