The way I see it.

By christinePears

Watching the Fulmars Fly

Time for a walk out the cliff tops at Holburn head to watch the birds. There are a lot more of them about and the big stack has lots of gulls on it that were not there last time I was here. Saw a shag building a nest half way up the cliff and lots of fulmars swirling around in the updrafts.

It is quite hard to capture a bird in flight when you have to think about focus, exposure, speed, iso etc, etc. So I decided to watch them carefully and work out where they did most of their "hanging in the air" thing and then I lay down on the grass at the top (and I must say near the edge!) of the cliff and wait for one to come into view. I was delighted that I could see black marks on the webbed feet of this one when I downloaded it. Not sure if it is dirt from standing on all those filthy ledges or natural markings.

Anyway it was a lovely way to spend some time on a Sunday afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.