While on my runs

By waipushrink

Not a fool's journey

Decided to run in the daylight today, so my run was late afternoon. When I reached Cox's Bay Park I headed off to the edge of the bay, where I found the tide about halfway in (or out depending on your view of tidal movements). The sun was already fairly low in the western sky, and that affected which way I could point my little camera, and to get the best view I moved westwards into the lee of the hillside on that side of the bay.

There were a number of grey heron in the shallow water, as more and more muddy sand became exposed as the tide went further out. This one was moving serenely allowing a nice clear shot with good reflections. The gulls go a bit further into the water and seem to do little except make a noise intermittently. Out of shot to the right (east) were more heron, all a bit more flighty than this one. Those with good eyesight (or imagination) will see a small bird of indeterminate nature as far as I am concerned) on the top of the tallest mangrove stump.

My title is borrowed from Mike@Boston Audi who (in November 2009) described trying to photograph a night heron at night, and termed it "a fool's journey". My run, a slight variation to a standard course, a change in timing of almost 12 hours, and perchance seeing and photographing this heron, made this no fool's journey.

Although my wonderful S thinks I may be stretching it to claim this as consistent with the theme for this week's challenge, I will offer it as an attempt, foolish or wise as my peers will decide.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.