Gers market

These chickens may look rather cramped, but unlike battery chickens they will be in these cages only until they're sold and taken to a farm where they will be kept in the open air. The market at Samatan has a building for live birds - pigeons, quail, chickens, ducks, partridges, pheasants and more. Next to it there's the hall for the sale of whole duck carcases and foie gras. This was an amazing sight with dozens of local producers bringing their meat to sell to the public. I took a lot of photos, some of which might be upsetting to sensitive vegetarians, so I didn't choose one of these to blip, but I will put some of them on my blog when I get home.

In spite of awful weather, we're enjoying our break and we've decided to have another night away, this time in a hotel that has wifi. I only have a little netbook with me, though, so I'll catch up with commenting tomorrow.

I've back-blipped yesterday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.