Miss Hedgepenny's World

By MissHedgepenny

Mr & Mrs Lovey-Dovey

These are my white Doves. They are my current passion, some would say obsession. I orginally had 11 but lost some to Sparrowhawk strikes and some flew away when I removed the homing net after 6 weeks. You leave them netted so that they learn where they live and hope that they will stay when you remove the net. Well lots of them didn't and now I have just these two adults and two babies whose mother was killed.

The babies are being looked after at the Wild Bird Haven where I volunteer. They were tiny little pink things when I took them from the nest, now they are almost fully grown and covered in beautiful white feathers. I have named them Pinky and Perky. Little Perky who we think is a boy is poorly but I know he is in the best place where people will look after him.

The two in the photo are called Mr & Mrs Lovey-Dovey, they are definately a pair and have been seen 'doing the do' on the lawn so I am hoping for more babies in the dovecote soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.