Steel City Wildlife

By steelcitywild

White Arse

As much as I cursed it when the alarm went off this morning, I love it when we move into BST, and I can fit in decent length wanders after work. So today I took a walk to Wharncliffe Chase, my third visit in three days, and finally got one of the Wheatears that had so far eluded me.

Wheatears (or Northern Wheatears, to give them their Sunday name) are one of the first migrants to return back to the UK, wintering in Sub Saharan Africa, and trickling back throughout March. Their name has nothing to do with wheat, or ears, but is actually a more genteel version of its Old English name "White Arse", which describes its distinctive white rump.

Adding to the Spring migrants was a Chiffchaff, singing briefly on the edge of Greno Wood when I passed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.