A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

Viola Odorata

Sweet violets. I love herbs. I have been reading about them for as long
as I remember and now that we have a tiny garden I have been growing
as many as I can. This one was not keen on the spot where I originally 
planted it but has upped sticks and spread itself throughout the garden
instead. Luckily I am not a neat gardener and if they are happy, I am 
happy too.

Culpeper declares that these little plants are governed by Venus and 
among many other applications are good for :-

"All the violets are cool and moist while they are fresh and green, and 
are used to cool any heat of the body, either inwardly or outwardly, as 
inflammations in the eyes, in the matrix or fundament, in imposthumes
also and hot swellings, to drink the decoction of the leaves and flowers
made with water and wine, or to apply them poultice-wise to the grieved
places: it likewise easeth pains in the head caused through want of 
sleep; or any other pains arising of heat, applied in the same manner, 
or with oil of roses."

All one sentence that!

This herb also has the property of knocking out your sense of smell, 
meaning that if you sniff them too long you soon stop smelling them. For
this reason it was popular as a strewing herb in the middle ages as when
you walked on it, not only did you briefly get the nice scent but, more 
importantly, it stopped you from smelling anything nastier.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.