CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Doing my little bit

I have just returned home from the last full Stroud Town Council meeting of this four year cycle, which ended at 10.30pm. We are classified as a Parish council, although we serve the people who live in Stroud itself, rather than the large outlying district. Some good fellow councillors will not be returning this time. They have served us well.

I have just been given my Nomination Forms to apply to stand for election. This is completely voluntary and takes a lot of my time, but I have decided I will stand in Trinity Ward, which is a name I like, so I can be in home territory.

At tonight's meeting, the founders of the Bee Guardian Foundation, whom I mentioned yesterday, came to report on their achievements in the year since we provided some of their start-up funds. It is now official that we are the first Bee Guardian Town, anywhere. As the Mayor mentioned when congratulating them for their success, it was very much down to these young people with strong positive ideas and initiatives, being helped to try something new and beneficial by a supportive body like Stroud Town Council. Their work has now spread widely around England and beyond. I wish them well and will try to bring their suggestions into our garden and the fields behind.
HERE is their website again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.