an itching in my thumbs

By itchythumbs

MIT

What do a former Captain in the Marines, the Appalachian Mountain Club, scones, a synagogue, sunshine, a prestigious university campus, and the Charles River have in common...?

Don't worry, I have no plans of actually telling you about all of them. Just one really. But they were all part of my day off today.

As I've mentioned before, I work at Harvard here in Boston, and, as of today, I have determined that I work at the wrong prestigious university in this town. Though I was all over the place today (Davis Square, Beacon Hill, etc.), I ended up walking all over MIT this afternoon. It's truly the most stunning and cutting-edge university I've ever been able to explore. Everything about it breathed innovation - it actually made me want to go back to school! (This is unheard of.)

One of the many cool nooks and crannies of MIT that I explored today was this atrium space. Basically, what you see on the floor is an art installation in the middle of a building. It's a square atrium, with benches for sitting and one wall has chalkboards for writing. It's a quiet space, meant for reflection - and it was, indeed, quite peaceful.

After spending an afternoon all over the campus, I was convinced - I need to switch allegiances. Plus, the number of attractive young men in Killian Court far outnumbered those in Harvard Yard...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.